Program Components







Student Program

The Access Code student program contains the following main elements:

  • A Screening Assessment
  • Unit Pretests/Posttests
  • Curriculum

Students begin with an initial Screening Assessment. This Screener is designed to provide data on each student’s foundational word recognition skills and to profile the student’s understanding of, and ability to apply ortho-phonemic skills. Students take the Screener again when they have completed 75% of the curriculum to measure growth.

After the Screener, students enter Access Code’s instructional program. Access Code includes 24 units, organized into Objectives, which extend over a 24 - 36 week period. For each unit there is a pretest, adaptive instructional lessons and a posttest.

  1. The unit Pretests determine the level of difficulty for each unit’s tasks.

  2. The instructional curriculum is comprised of five Instructional Levels, which provide students with increasingly more challenging tasks. The lessons help students systematically learn to generalize and apply word recognition skills and the rules of phonics to new words and connected text. This builds the foundations they need for reading success.
    • Level 1: Acquire skills to identify specific vowels and the structure of one-syllable words
    • Level 2: Apply skills to tasks requiring phonemic/grapheme mapping
    • Level 3: Generalize word recognition skills of one-syllable words to new tasks/content
    • Level 4: Apply/generalize word recognition skills to facilitate phrase recognition in connected text.
    • Level 5: Apply/generalize word attack skills to recognize multisyllabic words.

  3. The unit Posttests measure student growth at the end of each unit.

Linking the Science of Learning to the Art of Teaching

Foundations in Learning | Coralville, IA | Tel: 888-701-3009  

Foundations in Learning | Coralville, IA | Tel: 888-701-3009